Assault with a Dangerous Weapon is a very serious charge in Massachusetts, and it is absolutely not a case that you can resolve on your own without tremendous risks. According to the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Assault with a Dangerous Weapon is a Felony Charge, and you are facing a substantial risk of serious time in a state prison facility.
You could face ten years in prison if convicted of a felony assault w/a deadly or dangerous weapon.
What is Assault with a Dangerous Weapon?
A dangerous weapon can be considered anything from a gun, a knife, a moving car or other vehicle, down to a baby bottle, or even a shod foot!
It is common for police or prosecutors to overcharge any thrown or swung object as a dangerous weapon.
Regardless of whether the “weapon” is a foot or a gun, you are facing the same serious potential consequences. You need an experienced criminal attorney to work with you and protect your rights as quickly as possible.
Assault with a Dangerous Weapon – Defense Strategies
The best way to start an assault w/a dangerous weapon case is to see if you can get the charges reduced to a simple assault case. If the charges can be reduced down to a misdemeanor, the likelihood of getting a dismissal becomes much greater. We can argue that the alleged weapon was not truly dangerous, or intended to injure.
Beyond that, I am always prepared to file a full range of motions to dismiss, or motions to suppress the evidence against you on legal and constitutional grounds. The motions I will file depend on the specific facts of your case.
When we talk, I’ll go over the police report with you, and I’ll give you my honest opinion and the benefit of my years of criminal defense experience in assault cases helping people just like you. I’ll tell you upfront how good I think your case is, and what I can do to fight for you. And I’ll do all this for free, and with absolutely no obligation.
Free Legal Consultation on Massachusetts Assault with a Dangerous Weapon Laws
If you are charged with assault with a dangerous weapon of any kind, assault and battery, or any another criminal offense, call me now for your free first appointment now.
Massachusetts state law, excerpt
Chapter 265: Assault or assault and battery; punishment
“Section 13A. (a) Whoever commits an assault or an assault and battery upon another shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than 2 1/2 years in a house of correction or by a fine of not more than $1,000.”
Please call me about your Massachusetts Assault and Battery charge or other criminal case.