Receiving Stolen Property
Arrested in Massachusetts for Receiving Stolen Property?
According to Massachusetts General Law, a charge of receiving stolen goods or property can have the following penalties:
- If the value of the stolen property is under $250, the penalty goes up to 2 1/2 years in jail, and a $250 fine for a first offense.
- For a second or subsequent offense, or of the value of the goods stolen are greater than $250, the maximum penalty is 5 years in state prison and a $500 fine.
Receiving Stolen Property Defense Strategies
There are a number of valid defenses to a Massachusetts receiving stolen property charge depending on the facts of the case, and the alleged evidence that the police have against you. That evidence may have been illegally obtained, and if I believe that may have happened, I’ll file motions to suppress the evidence against you.
I’ll be happy to discuss the specifics of your case with you and what I believe to be your best defense strategy, in a no obligation, free legal consultation.
I am in different MA courts every day, defending my clients rights and freedom on charges of receiving or buying stolen goods or property and many other criminal charges. If you’ve been charged with a stolen property offense or another criminal charge in Massachusetts, you need someone who will fight for your rights. Call me today.
By calling, you have nothing to lose but the tremendous emotional stress your arrest has brought you. Defending people is what I do for a living. Call to set up a free consultation now.
Massachusetts General Laws reference (MGL)
CHAPTER 266. CRIMES AGAINST PROPERTY
Section 60: Stolen goods; buying or receiving
“Whoever buys, receives or aids in the concealment of stolen or embezzled property, knowing it to have been stolen or embezzled, or whoever with intent to defraud buys, receives or aids in the concealment of property, knowing it to have been obtained from a person by a false pretense of carrying on business and dealing in the ordinary course of trade… “