Don’t Let a Massachusetts Marijuana Possession Charge Ruin Your Life!
Possession of less than 1 oz of marijuana is now perfectly legal, and up to 10 ounces securely in your home.
However, you can still be charged larger quantities than an ounce if you are under 21, and school zone marijuana offenses under the state drug laws.
And any encounter where you have a lot of weed is likely to arise suspicion in cops, even if it is absolutely yours for personal use. But they can still try to charge you with felony intent to distribute.
Please call me for a consultation on your charges. I can work with you and discuss alternatives, and the best methods to fight the charges, and try to keep your record clean and protect your future.
How to Beat a Marijuana Possession Charge
One common method I use to fight a marijuana charge is to file a motion to suppress the evidence on grounds of unreasonable or illegal search and seizure. You cannot be searched without your permission, a clear and legitimate reason to do so, or a prior warrant. This applies to your person, your car, or your home. They must have what are called articulable facts to assume that you have drugs in your possession or on your person. This means that during a motion to suppress hearing, the police officer will have to take the stand and explain why they wanted to search you, and for what reason they suspected you of being in possession of marijuana.
There many be other defenses that apply in your case. As part of a free consultation, I can discuss the facts with you and suggest what I think might be the best possible defenses.
Marijuana Drug Possession Penalties
In Massachusetts, Marijuana/pot is known as a Class D substance. MA laws list the following maximum penalties for possession of Class D.
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to a $500 fine
- 1 year loss of your driver’s license
The most common penalty if you are convicted of a first offense is what they call a CWOF, or a continuance without a finding, 6 months probation, and then a dismissal if there are no other violations.
Second Offense Marijuana Possession Penalties
If you have a prior conviction for Possession of Class D substance, you will likely face additional penalties, which include mandatory drug treatment programs (inpatient or outpatient), fines, or jail time, as well as probation with possible drug testing.
Get a Free Legal Consultation on Massachusetts Marijuana Laws & Penalties
If you are facing a marijuana drug possession charge, contact me for a free case evaluation.
I have fought countless drug possession cases, and am committed to getting the best possible results for my clients. I will fight for a dismissal or any alternative to a conviction and permanent criminal record.