In Massachusetts, Domestic Assault is a charge where the penalties are identical to straight assault, but the outcome can easily become much more serious.
Domestic assault laws & penalties call for a maximum sentence of 2 1/2 years in jail and a fine of $1000. Domestic assault is a very political charge, and police and prosecutors can be difficult to deal with. You’ll need a skilled criminal defense lawyer to represent you as early as possible.
You see, the District Attorney’s can’t afford to be considered “soft” on domestic assault or a domestic abuse case, so even a weak or trivial case that can technically be construed as domestic assault will result in your being arrested.
And if you are the “victim” of domestic assault, and want the charges dropped, that isn’t simple either.
Massachusetts Domestic Assault Defense Strategies
Fortunately, there are a number of options and strategies I can employ to beat or knock down a domestic assault charge. I can tell you that I’ve successfully defended many clients in similar cases. A lot depends on the specific circumstances of the case, but I can absolutely tell you that the sooner I can get on a domestic assault case, the more options I have. I’ll plead your case and explain all the important circumstances to the police officers, the DAs, or a clerk magistrate. I’ll be a tireless advocate for you to get a fair shot against what can often be an unfairly applied charge.
When we talk, I’ll go over the police report with you, and I’ll give you my honest opinion and the benefit of my years of criminal defense experience helping people just like you. I’ll tell you upfront how good I think your case is, how I’ve beating domestic assault arrests before, and what I can do to fight for you. And I’ll do all this for free, and with absolutely no further obligation.
Free Legal Consultation on Domestic Assault Laws
If you are charged with domestic assault, assault and battery, or any another criminal offense, call me now to schedule your free first appointment now.
By calling, you have nothing to lose. I’ll be happy to talk with you and discuss your case before you decide if you want to hire me. Either way, you’ll get some free advice. Defending people accused of crimes is what I do for a living. Call to set up a free consultation now.
Massachusetts state law, excerpt
Chapter 265: Assault or assault and battery; punishment
“Section 13A. (a) Whoever commits an assault or an assault and battery upon another shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than 2 1/2 years in a house of correction or by a fine of not more than $1,000.”
Please call me about your Massachusetts Domestic Assault and Battery charge or another criminal case.